One-Pot Sticky Chicken Wings

Did I ever tell you I don’t like to cook things that involve oil splatter??  I’m talking about frying, braising, etc.  I really try to avoid this; there is a reason why I don’t make tempura often, and that I have a deep fryer when I have to deep fry.  However, today’s recipe from Andrew Zimmern looked so very delicious I readied myself for a huge clean up afterwards. 

IMG_7439

Serves 6:

  • 3 pounds chicken wings, wing tips removed and wings cut into 2 pieces
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger
  • 4 small dried red chiles
  • 2 whole star anise
  • One 3-inch cinnamon stick
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup sake
  • 3 tablespoons oyster sauce
  • 3 tablespoons mirin
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 scallions, thinly sliced

In a very large nonstick skillet (or in batches), cook the chicken wings over moderate heat, turning once, until golden, about 8 minutes. Add the ginger, chiles, star anise and cinnamon and cook over moderately low heat, stirring, until fragrant, about 1 minute.
Add the soy sauce, sake, oyster sauce, mirin, sugar and 1/3 cup of water and bring to a simmer over moderate heat. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Uncover and cook over moderately high heat, stirring occasionally, until the wings are cooked through and the sauce has reduced to a thick glaze, about 8 minutes. Discard the chiles, star anise and cinnamon. Transfer the chicken wings to a platter, scatter the scallions on top and serve.

My opinion:  This is really delicious!  If you love the Asian flavor of soy sauce, ginger & star anise you will love this.  I first thought I should decrease the amount of soy sauce next time I make this again, however, the next day somehow the flavor toned down and I liked it better.  Also, I loved eating this with hot rice and drizzle the sauce over rice – oh my gosh, purely YUM!!

Leave a Reply

