Black and Orange Halloween Pasta (aka Black Linguine with Roasted Squash and Peppers)

I don’t enjoy Halloween at all, I know, call me Ms. Hallo-Scrooge or whatever.  I never enjoyed it and I never will.  When my children were little I grudgingly took them out for trick or treating, and I never give out candies/treats.  Yup, throw an egg or two at my car window if you want, but seriously, not my favorite “holiday”, I care less.  I also hate to think this candy gorging tradition has spread around the world making other children fat and sick, ugh!!!  

I can dislike and not support this tradition, however, I’m a good sport, a darn good sport.  I don’t want to ruin my children’s fun so last year I made these fun savory Halloween food.  As long as I don’t have to make sickeningly sweet Halloween treats with orange and black dye I’m fine.  This year since my children are getting a little older I made this Black and Orange Halloween Pasta!

IMG_7468

Serves 6 main course:

  • 2 lb butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cut into 3/4-inch chunks
  • 2 orange bell peppers, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 4 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 1 tablespoon thyme leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon hot red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1lb black linguine or spaghetti (squid or cuttlefish ink pasta)
  • 1/2 cup pitted Kalamata olives, chopped
  • Accompaniment:

    grated Parmigiano-Reggiano

  • Preheat oven to 425°F with rack in middle.
  • Toss squash and bell peppers with garlic, thyme, red pepper flakes, oil, and 1/2 teaspoon each of salt and pepper in a 17- by 11-inch 4-sided sheet pan. Roast, stirring once, until vegetables are just tender and browned in spots, 25 to 35 minutes.
  • While vegetables finish roasting, cook linguine in a pasta pot of well-salted boiling water until al dente. Reserve 1/2 cup cooking water, then drain pasta and return to pot.
  • Remove sheet pan from oven and pour reserved water over vegetables, stirring to loosen from pan. Stir in olives, then add vegetable mixture to pasta in pot and toss to combine.


** I used 1 lb butternut squash & 1 lb kabocha squash, and used fettuccine instead of linguine.

IMG_7466
I bought this squid ink fettuccine from Amazon.

My opinion: I never cooked with squid ink pasta before; when I cooked this pasta it started to smell of ocean or fish market.  However, I assure you that it doesn’t taste like the ocean nor fish market.  It has a very very subtle fishy flavor, but it’s not strong at all. 

Now, let me tell you about this Black & Orange Halloween Pasta; this is so very delicious!  I loved the roasted squash (the sweetness with the savory flavor all infused into one!), and sliced garlic and peppers gave their own distinct flavors out as they roasted.  This can easily become my comfort food!  I preferred kabocha squash over butternut squash (that’s just a personal preference) because kabocha squash is firmer and sweeter.  I think kabocha gave a bit more layer in the flavor along with garlic and peppers. 

2 thoughts on “Black and Orange Halloween Pasta (aka Black Linguine with Roasted Squash and Peppers)

Leave a Reply

