Mini Apple Pies

‘Tis the season for apple pies and apple whatever pastries and desserts you want to make and eat.  I love my local farmer’s market because they have so many varieties of local apples on sale.  I was asked by my youngest daughter to make something typically North American for her literacy class so I decided to make Mini Apple Pies.  I made few adjustments to this recipe; but I think whether you stick with the original recipe or not you’ll have wonderful mini pies!  Feel free to use your own apple pie recipes by adding currants, raisins or whatever else you usually add. 

IMG_7498

Makes 24 cupcake sized pies:

8-9 medium sized apples diced into 1/2 inch bits (I used mixture of Honey Crisp and Granny Smith apples)

1/8 cup lemon juice

3/4 cup flour

1-1/4 cups sugar

3 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon nutmeg

4 Tablespoons chilled butter, cut into 24 equal parts

2 boxes of ready made pie crusts (4 chilled, but not frozen crusts total)

Mix and stir the first six ingredients in a large bowl.

Unroll pie crusts and cut several circles out (wide mouth mason jar works well to cut outs).

Line each cup of cupcake pan with pie crust circles.  Fill with apple filling (slightly mounded).  Put dab of butter on each pie.  Cover with left over dough; brush with melted butter.

Bake at 400F for 18-22 minutes. 

IMG_7492IMG_7493IMG_7494IMG_7495IMG_7496IMG_7497IMG_7503IMG_7519

My opinion: This isn’t necessarily a simpler version (even though we’re using ready made pie crusts here).  However, this is a wonderful alternative to potlucks or get together because it’s a great single serve finger food!  Taste exactly like apple pie (why wouldn’t it??) and I think a definite crowd pleaser.  I had my daughter help me and it made the process go faster.  For a party or Thanksgiving dinner it’ll be really nice to have these mini pies in apple, pecan, and/or peach! 

Leave a Reply

