Mini Persimmon Cakes

Growing up in Japan I have very fond memories of eating, I mean gorging tons of persimmons in the Fall season.  I used to eat fresh, dried and pureed persimmons until the persimmon season ended.  Oh, such sweet memories!!

The other day I received quite a lot of persimmons from different people.  After enjoying eating them fresh I still had quite a lot left so I started researching if there were any persimmon cake recipes.  I didn’t want heavy persimmon pudding kind, and I also didn’t want to add typical Fall/Winter spices (ie. nutmeg & cinnamon).  I found this recipe and it seemed like what I was looking for. 

IMG_7549

Makes 12-14 cupcake tins or 6-8 mini bundt cake tins:

3 cups chopped Fuyu persimmons, about 4 fruit
2 tsp. flour
½ cup butter
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
Juice of 1 lemon
1 tsp. vanilla
2 cups flour
2 Tbsp. Tea Spice blend (recipe follows)*
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Butter or line 12-14 mini cake/muffin tins, or 6-8 mini-bundt cake tins. Preheat oven to 350°F.

Blend 2 tsp. flour with Fuyus; set aside. Whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, and tea blend; set aside.

In a large bowl of an electric mixer, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, followed by lemon juice, and vanilla and beat until fluffy. Add in flour mixture and blend until just incorporated. Stir in persimmons and nuts, if using. Fill prepared muffin cups/skillets ½ full with batter. 30-35 minutes or until cakes spring back and until toothpick tests almost clean. Do not over bake. Remove from oven. Cool in pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes before turning onto rack.

IMG_7532
IMG_7539
IMG_7541
IMG_7544
IMG_7552

Tea Blend

¼ cup raw sugar (regular, granular sugar would work)
2 Tbsp. Loose floral-flavored tea (or preferred flavor/blend)
½ tsp fine sea salt
In a spice grinder, finely grind the sugar, tea and salt. Transfer the powder to an airtight container and set aside. (You will have more than you need for this recipe.)
IMG_7534
IMG_7535

My opinion:  I think what makes this cake so light and fresh tasting is the tea blend!  I used pomegranate & blueberry green tea.  Loved the smell after I ground the ingredients.  Anyway, this cake was exactly what I was looking for.  Persimmons kept its shape and the cake didn’t become soggy.  Persimmon is such a mild tasting fruit it was perfect for this cake!

Leave a Reply

