Downton Abbey, anyone?

Yes, I am one of them… I am one of those dedicated American fan of this bigger than life British period drama.  Please don’t hate or judge me for this; seriously after all the trashy reality shows we have here in America this is such a beautiful welcome change.  Few months before each new season starts I wait in anticipation, and after just a mere month or so of watching the season I go into mourning stage; then another very long months of waiting… sigh…

Anyway, past Sunday was the premier of Season 3 here in America.  My youngest daughter (age 12) caught up with all of Season 1 & 2 and we wanted to do something special for this premier.  I wanted to make some dishes from the Edwardian era and start this season with a bang. Did you know that there’s a Downton Abbey cookbook? I had to restrain the urge to buy it, but instead  I found this very addicting website called Downton Abbey Cooks.  There are tons of Edwardian recipes including the menus served on the Titanic.  I decided to choose handful of recipes from here to make my dinner.

IMG_7850

 

For this post I will not write down the recipes, but I will add the recipe links to Downton Abbey Cooks.

Here, I have Roast Beef with Yorkshire Pudding, Creamed Carrots, Parmentier Potatoes, Treacle Tart and Mincemeat Cake.  For those of you from the UK, please forgive me for my feeble attempt at re-creating these Edwardian style dishes, but they tasted delicious!

Roast Beef & Yorkshire Puddinghttp://downtonabbeycooks.com/2012/01/15/sunday-roast-beef-dinner-with-yorkshire-pudding-downton-abbey/

IMG_7853IMG_7856

Creamed Carrots & Parmentier Potatoes: http://downtonabbeycooks.com/2012/04/02/downtontitanic-cookery-vegetables-should-be-seen-and-not-heard/

IMG_7840IMG_7839

For Roast Beef, instead of making the sauce from the beef fat from the pan, I made Rosemary Cream Sauce – Rosemary Cream Sauce: Drain fat from the roasting pan. Place pan over medium heat and add 1 tsp (5 mL) EACH olive oil and butter; add 1 shallot (minced) and cook for 1 to 2 minutes, until softened. Stir in 1 cup (250 mL) beef or chicken broth and 1/4 cup (50 mL) dry white wine, stirring up any browned bits from bottom of pan. Heat until liquid is reduced by half. Add half a sprig fresh rosemary; heat through. Stir in 1/4 cup (50 mL) whipping cream; heat until desired consistency. Season with salt and pepper to taste; remove rosemary to serve.

Treacle Tart: http://downtonabbeycooks.com/2012/09/25/tea-tuesday-downton-abbey-season-3-launched-with-treacle-tart/

IMG_7833IMG_7862

Mincemeat Cake: http://downtonabbeycooks.com/2012/12/11/tea-tuesday-enjoy-simply-mincemeat-cake-for-the-holidays/#more-5011

IMG_7859IMG_7860

My opinion:  This was such a decadent Sunday dinner meal!!  It was like preparing a Christmas meal!  Was it worth going through all the preparations and effort?  YES!!  Roast beef was tender and juicy (I really liked the Rosemary Cream sauce); Yorkshire pudding was delicious served like a muffin!  I made this in a larger pan before, but I think I’ll use the muffin tins from now on.   Creamed carrots reminded me of pumpkin pie, except the sweetness came from the carrots, and Parmentier potatoes were a huge hit with the kids; Treacle tart will not be treacle tart without our favorite Golden Syrup (we dab this syrup on our breakfast toast and it is yummy!) – with a hint of lemon and ginger this sure is a sweet winner!  Mincemeat cake was moist and another delicious reminder of Christmas.  All in all a very wonderful meal, and I cannot wait to make another Edwardian style dish!  I am waiting in anticipation for the next episode of Downton Abbey coming Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

