Red Velvet Cream Cheese Cupcakes

I always appreciated and loved Red Velvet Cakes;  my only problem was the red dye in the recipe.  In the past I have substituted the red dye with shredded beets and its juice, but the color didn’t quite come out as nice; I can get “natural” red dye from organic stores, but I seriously don’t want to spend close to $10.oo for it.  So, I made a compromise with myself – I will only make Red Velvet Cake once in a while and put less red dye in it, or I can just omit the red dye and not take any photos of the end product!  Today, I ended up using red dye, but less of it.

Since Valentine’s Day is quickly approaching, and my husband’s birthday is only 1 day after Valentine’s I thought I would experiment with few Red Velvet recipes.  Today’s recipe came from here and it’s pretty simple to make.

20130123_153329

Note: Even though the original recipe says it’ll make 8 cupcakes I squeezed out 9 cupcakes.  The ingredients below are for 8-9 cupcakes, I doubled this to make 1-1/2 dozen cupcakes.

Filling:
4 ounces cream cheese, softened
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 ½ tablespoons lightly beaten egg (break egg, mix with fork, measure) – if you double the recipe you can easily use 1 egg yolk.
1/4 teaspoon vanilla

Batter:
1 cup plus 2 tablespoon all purpose flour (5 oz)
2 teaspoons unsweetened natural cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 plus 1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar or regular vinegar
1 large egg
1 tablespoon red food coloring (I put slightly less)
3/4 teaspoons vanilla
3 tablespoons sour cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line 8 muffin cups with paper liners.

Prepare filling first. With a mixing spoon, beat together softened cream cheese and sugar. Add egg and vanilla and stir until smooth. Set aside.

In a mixing bowl, thoroughly stir together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.

In a second mixing bowl, stir together oil, sugar, vinegar, egg, red food coloring, vanilla and sour cream. Mix very well, then add flour mixture and stir just until blended.

Measure out approximately 1/3 cup red mixture and set aside. Divide remaining red mixture among the 8 muffin cups – each cup should be a little over 1/3 of the way full. Spoon cream cheese mixture over red mixture, dividing evenly between all cups. Drop small spoonfuls of reserved red batter on top of cream cheese mixture, making a bulls-eye pattern.

Bake for 20-23 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack. Carefully remove lift muffins from cups.
Best serve slightly chilled.

IMG_7879

IMG_7882

Please excuse the look of my muffin tin, it’s time to buy new tins, but I’ve been trying to make the most out of this.

IMG_7885

IMG_7886

My opinion:  I baked this for my children’s after school snack, and they each had 2 cupcakes and wanted more (they ended up splitting the 3rd one).  A bit different from your traditional Red Velvet (not as sweet, and you don’t have the heavy cream cheese frosting or butter frosting), but still incredibly delicious!  You know, coming to think about it, this will be a great picnic dessert because it’s not messy to eat and it travels very well!!

2 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cream Cheese Cupcakes

  1. Yum….can’t wait to try these! I don’t care for very sweet desserts so I’m sure I will love these. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Thank you! I’m so embarrassed to say this, but my children ate this 3 days in a row after school!! I caught a cold and didn’t feel like doing much so I was very glad I made plenty of these cupcakes 🙂 I think next time I’m not even going to bother putting in the red dye. Hope you enjoy them too!

Leave a Reply

