Red Bean Mochi Cake

I finally caught a cold 😦  I was doing really well during this Fall/Winter, but I finally succumbed to a cold passed to me from my first progeny.    It’s not fun being sick at any age, but it’s doubly not fun being sick as a “middle-aged” woman!  You know, when my husband gets sick he gets to sleep in, mope around and act like he is at death’s door, but not with me; not with the mothers all around the world!!  I still wake up early to get everyone’s breakfast ready so that they can maximize their time in the morning. I still cook, clean and take care of the household, I still endure  hearing everyone whine and groan about their days at school and work and I still have to take care of mundane tasks that no one wants to deal with.  Anyway, in the midst of this I got this massive craving for mochi cake I used to make; in fact, this recipe was given to me by one of my mother’s friends about 20 years ago!!  I searched and searched but couldn’t find it (of course this craving came late last night so I gave up searching because I got too tired).  This morning I searched again and finally found it!!

IMG_7895

This is a really simple recipe, only involving 4 ingredients!!

Makes 1 – 9×13″ pan :

1 box (16oz) 454g  Mochiko (sweet rice powder)

1 teaspoon baking powder

3 cups milk

1 can (170z) 475g  sweetened red bean

Sift mochiko and baking powder well;  add milk and mix until well blended.  Fold in the red bean until well incorporated.

Line your 9×13″ pan with aluminum foil and grease it.  Pour the mixture into the pan and bake in a 350F oven for approximately 40 minutes (this will vary with your oven so in about 35 minutes check the cake with a toothpick or a bamboo skewer.  Insert the stick in the center of the cake and if it comes out clean the cake is done).

Let it cool completely and slice.

IMG_7888

I think this is the most common brand of mochiko you will find in Asian markets.  I have tried many different kinds of red bean, but I like the Japanese kind the best (also, I would discourage you from using the red bean paste, it’ll still come out fine, but I prefer having the beans in my cake).

IMG_7889

IMG_7891

IMG_7892

My personal opinion:  this is not sweet at all (like we’re used to in America or Europe); it has subtle sweetness and tastes like Japanese and Korean style mochi.  If you want the Southeast Asian style you can substitute milk with coconut milk ( the canned variety).  I personally have not experimented using almond, soy or coconut milk (drinking variety) so I can’t say if it’ll taste good, but if you do try let me know!  

There are other mochi recipes online, but most of them use butter, eggs and sugar;  nothing wrong with that (I did try baking it long time ago, definitely tasted more like a traditional cake), but I prefer this simple recipe much better.  By the way, after a day or so this cake may harden a bit, no problem! just microwave the slices for a few seconds (ok, maybe 10 seconds or so) and it’ll be good as the day you baked it! 

2 thoughts on “Red Bean Mochi Cake

  1. Hello YangHwa, thanks for stopping by my blog so I could find your beautiful blog. I love simple and delicious recipes and this mochi recipe is definite one of them. I like the slightly crusty texture in baked mochi. Thanks a lot for sharing it!

Leave a Reply

