Loco Moco

I think I’m finally catching up (I think…).  Now it feels like Spring has finally arrived and in the midst of ups and downs with families, friends and relatives I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel (sort of).  I am posting one of our favorite food “Loco Moco”!!  My husband requested this for his birthday dinner in mid-February (yes, I’m about 2 months behind with my post) and I happily agreed since it’s been ages since I made this.  Loco Moco is one of the Hawaiian specialties – with Japanese style hamburger patty placed over hot steaming rice, sunnyside up egg on top of the hamburger with generous amount of gravy; a true comfort food.  Read the history of Loco Moco here.

IMG_8002

It’s been such a long time since I made this; I lost the original recipe I had 😦   I searched online to see if I can find a similar recipe and this came the closest and it tasted pretty darn good!

Serves 4:

Rice:

2 cups (rice measuring cup) short or medium grain white rice

Hamburger Patties:

  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1/2 cup onion, minced
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground pepper
  • 1 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs for sunny side up or over easy

Gravy:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 quart beef broth
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • Salt and black pepper to taste

Cook the rice according to your rice cooker manual (or how you are used to cooking).

Make the gravy. Melt butter in a saucepan over medium-low heat. Add flour and continually stir for 5 minutes or until the mixture turns golden-brown. Whisk in the beef broth, ketchup, soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce. Keep whisking and bring sauce to a boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes or until desired thickness is reached, stirring occasionally. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Set aside and keep warm.

In a large bowl, mix beef, onion, one egg, panko, salt and pepper. Divide in four and make flat oval patties. Heat oil in a pan and grill patties over medium heat for 5 minutes then flip and grill both sides until cooked through.

Fry eggs sunny side up or over easy.

When rice completes cooking, place in serving plates and top with the cooked hamburger patties. Ladle the gravy and top with a fried egg.

My opinion:  I always loved Japanese style hamburgers while growing up, so naturally I fell in love with Loco Moco (which adopted this Japanese style hamburger).  I don’t know how else to describe this, just a pure comfort food.  You have to try this!!

Leave a Reply

