Slow Cooker Thai Curry

I love my slow cooker and I love Thai curry!  I have been trying different slow cooker recipes gearing up for the Summer.  I always associated slow cooker to Fall/Winter, but I realized slow cooker comes in handy (even saved many dinners) during Summer especially when you live in a 100 plus year old house without central air… I adapted this Thai curry recipe from here;  instead of beef, I added chicken; instead of beef stock, I added chicken stock; and depending on your taste adjust the amount of curry paste, sugar and fish sauce.  I also added bell peppers, carrots, zucchini,  and  bamboo shoots; used regular coconut milk instead of light milk, omitted jalapeno,  and garnished with cilantro.  

302011_10151628391986449_837147461_n

Serving: 8

  • 2 pounds lean beef stew meat
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups finely chopped onion (1 onion)
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3/4 cup lower-sodium beef broth
  • 1 tablespoon dark brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons red curry paste
  • 2 tablespoons fish sauce
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1 (13.5-ounce) can light coconut milk  (** I used regular coconut milk)
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, minced
  • 2 cups bagged baby spinach leaves
  • 4 cups hot cooked jasmine rice
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil leaves

**See the adjustments I made above (in the introduction).  

  1. 1. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add beef; cook 5 minutes or until browned, stirring occasionally. Drain. Place beef in a 4-quart electric slow cooker; sprinkle with salt.
  2. 2. Return pan to medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic; saute 5 minutes or until tender. Spoon onion mixture over beef. Combine beef broth and next 6 ingredients (through jalapeño); pour over beef. Cover and cook on LOW for 6 hours.
  3. 3. Stir in spinach. Cover and cook on LOW for 15 minutes or just until spinach wilts. Serve beef mixture over rice; sprinkle with basil leaves.

**There are different types of Thai curry paste; these are the 2 brands I use the most.  In my opinion, the canned paste is slightly less spicy and hot than the paste in a tub.  

IMG_8160

My opinion:  Ohhhh, loved it!!!  My family couldn’t keep away from this curry!!  My children wanted to eat this day after day, but after day 2 we finished it up and they were really sad.  Use the recipe as a base and adjust it to your own taste (as you can see, that’s what I did).

Leave a Reply

